What is it
    Just gladness
    A reason
    For a laugh
    To forget
    Weary days
    What is it

Celebration

This is my first attempt at writing without rhyme... (today is my 18th birthday, btw )
    Last edited by N. Y. Sonnet; 05-28-2017, 06:59 AM.

This is beautiful and reads as if it is written with very confident rhyme all throughout! I had to re-read it to actually notice that there are no strict end of the line rhymes, and yet I still felt subtle rhyming coming throughout the piece:

Numbers-Gladness-Days
    Higher-Another

In addition to the repeated line holding the piece together. And somehow I feel that the last line is rhyming with everything written above it!

Comment

• N. Y. Sonnet
      N. Y. Sonnet commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you so much, AnatoliyS! I appreciate your kind comments! I think the reason why it sounds like it rhymes, is because I used a syllable count - 3 per line, except for the last line (celebration).

Repetition is an effective refrain.

Enjoyed this honest write.

Comment

• N. Y. Sonnet
      N. Y. Sonnet commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you! I have learnt so much from your poetry, and some of it I tried to use in writing this piece. So thank you for your inspirational poems!
      Last edited by N. Y. Sonnet; 05-28-2017, 09:23 AM.

Happy Birthday to you. Your future in poetry is bright, I am more convinced with each one you post.

Comment

• N. Y. Sonnet
      N. Y. Sonnet commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you!! Your words are very encouraging!

Ah, but it does rhyme, N Y Sonnet. As a fan of syllabic, short-line structure, I say congratulations. Eighteen is a good moment to step into new birth. Two enneads of years: the lesser and greater powers are complete. May this lap around the sun bring you into the waxing of your powers.

Comment

• N. Y. Sonnet
      N. Y. Sonnet commented
      Editing a comment