• First Time

That first time you whispered breathlessly
    I love you, as you held me in your arms
    all I could do was shudder, wipe tears from
    bloodshot eyes, and moan as I gazed over
    your left shoulder. Even in that moment
    of disorientation, with a lip already swollen
    from the impact of a fist, I knew you had
    just upped the ante—and I hated you for it.

As well you might! Oh what tangled, painful web 'love' weaves... I am so thankful you are now safe - and past this. Some stay bound forever, too afraid to flee. This is so poignantly beautiful and brutally honest (as must needs be), but so very, very sad in its universality.

Comment

Thank you, RLW. The prompt I was writing from today (on the other site) was to write either a love, or and anti-love, poem. I'm not good with decisions, so I tried to write both... I do sincerely appreciate your comments—I do realize this is a far too common experience and I am grateful to be on the other side of this relationship now.

Comment

• RhymeLovingWriter
        RhymeLovingWriter commented
        Editing a comment
        I don't think I've seen all of the other poems you've been writing each day, but I seem to recall you saying something about having to pick a top five favorites at month's end. This might just be another one to consider for that list.

• pipersfancy
        pipersfancy commented
        Editing a comment
        I haven't posted all of the poems here, RLW. Maybe 10 or so out the 20+ I've written from the prompts this month. I think this one packs a bit of an unexpected emotional punch... that's what I like about it. When one of my poems catches ME offguard in some way... then I feel I've hit an authentic nerve. Yes, this one may make it to the final cut of the poems I'll be submitting.

• imrogue
        imrogue commented
        Editing a comment
        That is a powerful poem ! i love how the beginning part got twisted into something else... grasping! 👍🏼👍🏼