Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A FEW POINTERS FOR WRITERS OF POETRY ON RHYME ZONE

A FEW POINTERS FOR WRITERS OF POETRY ON RHYME ZONE

Hi everybody, I am The kurlman! I was asked by Electron John, if I would share a few pointers with all the writers of poetry on RHYME ZONE. My answer was a very quick yes! You must understand, I am no expert. There is so much to learn! I personally didn't start writing until I was (70 ) then I quit because no one took me serious. All my words were put on paper with pen, I didn't touch a computer until I was (76 ),if writing is hard, an old man learning the computer, was a disaster! I tell you this, just so you know, no matter how old you are don't stop writing.

#1- Don't get discouraged keep writing
    #2- Don't rely on family and friends for critiques, they love everything you write
    #3- Do join a writing group (as quick as possible ) Google one in your area, they will pop up
    #4- Do listen I repeat LISTEN
    #5- Do take your work in for critiquing (we have a 1000 word limit, I get 6 to 8 poems critiqued )
    #6- Do redo your work immediately (if you put it off, it may become less important )
    #7- Do re-read your work -10-20-30-40-50- times (you wrote it try and make it perfect )

I personally love the critique, because it makes me better, I may only change a word or move a line, when finished, my poem is better! I mostly write end line rhymes, where each line rhymes with the last line. Rhythm and meter are two points important to me, helping my poems flow, from one line to the next. Poets who write free verse, rhythm and meter mean very little.

#8- Do write I repeat WRITE (the more you write the better you will become )
    #9- Do keep a pad with you (write down your thoughts-they may be your next great poem )
    #10-Do encourage others, they will encourage you

Thanks for letting me share,
    Your fellow poet,
    The kurlman