Writer's block is real!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writer's block is real!

I'm a passionate writer and I've been writing about everything and anything since I was young. Lately, I've been experiencing writer's block and I lose an hour or so or even more just from looking at a blank space. I am totally devasted every time I go blank and I wonder if you have experienced something like this. If you did, how did you overcome it?

Hi Anne,

I've not experienced anything quite as rough as you describe, but I have had many moments when thoughts seem slow to come to me. One thing that helps to sort of break the word-jamb in my mind is to just start typing. Anything and everything that comes to mind. I'll look around the room or out the window and describe things in as much detail as I can. Or, I go for a walk (if I'm able) and let the elements revive me. If it's too hot or cold for that, I at least get up and do some stretching. Too much sitting in the same place rarely inspires me.

Have you tried visiting some poetry or writing sites that provide prompts? Maybe writing a short bit using a prompt will jog something else for you? I've also read that if you write prose usually, try poetry, and if you write poetry usually, try some short prose. Anything to mix it up, but get words on a page.

Maybe these ideas all sound like a waste of time - I'm certainly not the most experienced writer in the zone - but something seems better than nothing.

Let us know what you try and/or if anything different has already worked for you.

RhymeLovingWriter (AKA Paula)

Comment

Must be really tough for you. I have not experienced anything like this, but I hope you get better soon

Comment